As many know, President Lincoln’s Cottage is located on the grounds of the Armed Forces Retirement Home (AFRH) in Washington, DC. This 160 year old campus began a major modernization at the beginning of 2011 with the “Scott Project.” The Scott Building has been an integral part of the campus since 1951, but lacked certain modern amenities that would enable the staff at the Home to continue to provide the very best in senior care to the residents.
This morning at around 10:30am, the wrecking ball dropped for the first time to commence the demolition of Scott Building. The majority of the wrecking ball demolition will take place on the south side of the building, in order to limit the noise to the main campus.
President Lincoln’s Cottage will remain open for the entirety of the Scott Project. Visitors to the Cottage should be assured that they will receive the same quality experience during the project as they would at any other time. And, while the reason for demolishing the Scott Building and erecting a new structure was not based on improving this view, visitors in the future will be able to enjoy a more scenic landscape facing downtown DC.