Scholarly Advisory Group

The Scholarly Advisory Group (SAG) was established in the spring of 2012 to continue formally our relationship with scholars who have lent their expertise to this historic site, and have contributed to our work by advising on exhibits, participating in panels and lectures, and producing original scholarship, such as the “Emancipation at 150” essay collection.”

Dr. Jason Silverman

Advisory Group Chairman
Winthrop University

Dr. Vernon Burton

Clemson University

Mr. Burrus Carnahan, Esq

The GWU Law School,
Lincoln Group of DC

Dr. Catherine Clinton

The University of Texas
at San Antonio

Mr. Chris DeRose

American Historian

Mr. Adam Goodheart

Washington College

Mr. Harold Holzer

Director at Roosevelt House Public Policy Institute at Hunter College

Dr. Michelle Krowl

Library of Congress

Dr. Chandra Manning

Georgetown University

Dr. Edna Greene Medford

Howard University

Dr. Matthew Pinsker

Dickinson College

Dr. Laura Schiavo

The George Washington University

Dr. Kenneth Winkle

University of Nebraska – Lincoln